Customer Service: used car salesman?!?

There are millions of stories about bad customer service, especially in the used car industry.

Setup – I’m frugal when it comes to car shopping…okay, cheap.  I set a target price and don’t buy new cars.  Sorry, Detroit, Dave Ramsey said.  Anyway, I often go to numerous lots and see numerous cars before taking the plunge, usually from an individual.  The experiences are always the same.

Don’t get me started on the  “no haggle pricing” strategy (that’s just American’s being lazy and avoiding confrontation).  Even when I hear that “Dealer X is super-duper fantastically customer focused,” I know they’re really all the same…right?

Wrong!  I met George, a salesman at Chevrolet’s 2nd oldest dealership by accident when I stopped in to look at a vehicle I spotted on the internet.  At the time, the car wasn’t there and I told him I’d return that night to see it on my way home.  I didn’t show.  He called me the next day and told me he had the vehicle back on the lot if I was interested.

Two days passed.  I dropped back by there on my lunch break and George had just returned from taking a woman to the courthouse to apply for a tag (how weird is that?).  The car had been moved to the other lot the dealership has across town.  He told me it would be back this evening.  No problem, I was in a hurry anyway.

At 3:30, George called me and said he had the vehicle.

“Alright,” I thought, “I’ll come by if I get a chance tonight,” or whenever…

THEN…George tells me that he personally went across town and got the car.  He was bringing it to my work so I could see it.

What an amazing lesson for salespeople.  He over-delivered and totally caught me off guard.

When’s the last time you wowed a potential customer?  How about a current one?

Have I bought the car? Not yet.  My wife needs to see it…

I’ve talked to about 15 dealers in the last week.  Guess who just jumped ahead of all of them?

By the way, before you think “I’d go get a car too for a $40k sale’s commission,” this car is less than $10k.  Makes it even better.

FTR, I know, shame on me for stereotyping.  I hate it when people say government employees are lazy and don’t care.

One thought on “Customer Service: used car salesman?!?

  1. I just wanted to let you know I really appreciated this post. Thank you for your honest commentary, and I’m very happy to hear you’ve been having a positive experience so far with George! If you ever have GM vehicle questions, please don’t hesitate to contact me anytime.

    Best,

    Katie, GM Customer Service

Leave a Reply

