You’re a LIAR!!!

running out of timeI say that integrity is important to me. I say I tell the truth no matter what…but I don’t.

Time. Yep…we all know we have 86,400 seconds every day. For some strange reason, however, we act like the laws of physics don’t apply to us and we are just to busy to do (insert object of procrastination here).

The fact is you have time.

I know you’re busy – so am I. I have a job, blog, FB, Twitter feeds, LinkedIn account, 3 volunteer groups, church group, outside ministry, 1 yr old child, wife, etc., and you have all of those plus 10 more, I’m sure.

So what is it that keeps you from doing what you know you should do?

sayingimages.com

Priority.

Frankly, I’m sick of people telling me they “wanted” to do something (grow their business, visit family, learn how to play the cello, develop their people, etc.,) but just ran out of time!

Read my lips: NO YOU DIDN’T!!!

I’m not yelling at you; I’m yelling at us. I’m continually amazed how I can have a ton of things I want to do and yet I find myself staying busy doing things that don’t contribute to those things (Facebook, email, Youtube, etc.)

So what’s a person to do? Glad you asked. Here are the tips I ran across that deal with doing the right things (leadership):

1. Pre-determine your course of action, Lay out your goals, and Adjust your priorities. If that looks familiar, it’s from John Maxwell’s material where he lays out his PLAN AHEAD model for achieving anything. It’s important to note that you have to decide where you’re going, write it down (accountability) and adjust your priorities. You adjust priorities because you’ll find yourself doing all sorts of things that are not related to your goal.

2. Put processes in place to force you to do it. By this, I mean tell someone you’re going to do something out loud. That forces you to be accountable. If you don’t do it, you’re not only a procrastinator and time-waster, you’re lying to their face!

3. Actually live your values. What is it that you really value? Some say family; some say spirituality; some say integrity. No matter what you value, realize that when you don’t do what needs to be done you’re trampling your values.

For example, if you say you value family and you need to get the latest project off the ground, remember that by not doing so you’re violating the biblical principle of doing wrong by not doing right (James 4:17).

What is it that you need to do? What do you say is important to you or your organization?

Is it finding a new job? Going after a promotion? Taking a class? Finishing your degree? Starting a business? Working out?

A good test might be when you say “I just want to X, but there’s just too much going on.”

wasting timeDon’t be a liar. If someone has done what it is you want to do before, they’ve proven that you have enough time – you just don’t want it enough.

Agree? What other tips do you have for a fellow time-waster who needs to do more?

One thought on “You’re a LIAR!!!

  1. Pingback: What Stephen Covey Didn’t Teach Us | The Thinking Leader

Leave a Reply

