Top 5 things I’ve learned working here:

Today’s my last day.

No, not from this site (sorry), but from my current role teaching leadership and management in the government sector.

On Monday, I’ll start my new role as AVP of Learning and Talent Development for an awesome company here in Birmingham. I am very excited to be trekking back over into the private sector to head up their leadership development programs.

As I’m cleaning out my office today, I’ve been looking back over the last few months and trying to reflect upon some the lessons I’ve learned. I’ve been able to learn from people I work for, people I work with, and people I’ve taught.

Lessons learned (in no particular order):

  1. Make time for fun. Spending time in the classroom, I know that having fun and being engaged is essential to learning. If I want to continue learning in my new spot, or even in life, I must be engaged and have fun.
  2. Expect more from people and they’ll deliver. I’ve had the pleasure of working with a great team for a great leader. My immediate manager has made it very clear that he expects us to deliver great product. It doesn’t matter how we get there, just get there. And you know what? It works!
  3. Connect with your team and you’ll be connected. Duh, right? Easy to say; not so easy to do. Everyone can’t be on the team. You should include everyone, but learn who gets it and who doesn’t when you’re trying to move something forward. Often times it’s easier to focus on those who tell you why things can’t change than to run with the folks who are changing things.
  4. Make a difference everyday…even if it doesn’t feel like it’s working. Some days are better than others, no doubt, but as Bob Ferrell say, “Show enthusiasm…I didn’t say be enthusiastic.” His point is that it’s always a show, whether or not you feel like performing.
  5. Practice what you preach. Often, people say “those who can’t do teach.” I can say whole heartedly that you’re going to make much more of an impact than you can imagine if you practice what you preach. It’s easy to say the right things but much harder to live them. I saw that 1st hand when my manger found out I was moving on. We’re good friends and I know he’s sad to see me go, but he’s been genuinely excited for me. Here’s a link to his philosophy. I know for a fact that he lives this. I hope I can always model the behavior I’ve see in him.

I’ve learned countless other things, but these are the 1st 5 I got down on paper. I’m sure I’ll share a few more pretty soon.

See you on the flip side!

One thought on “Top 5 things I’ve learned working here:

  1. Pingback: Career Insecurities: What do they really mean? | The Thinking Leader

Leave a Reply

