There is no try?

ImageYoda was wrong!

Hold on…before you dismiss this as heresy, hear me out.

“Do or not do. There is no try,” is, of course, the line I’m talking about. While I get the line, I don’t buy it.

Try. That’s a tough thing to do. Generally, if you’re like me, you like to think, think, think, think, build, present to the world. The problem with that reasoning is that we get too vested in the outcome or our ‘build’ that we make it hard for people to tell us what needs to be improved.

No one wants to tell you that your baby is ugly. People are nice. They really want to help, and generally can offer great insights into whatever you’re doing, but if we wait until we have our version of the Mona Lisa, it becomes our baby and people won’t tell you it’s ugly.

Make sense?

When designing, one of the most important phases is gaining empathy. That’s to say, getting to the heart of the matter and understanding what the problem really is. Once you have that, you can start hypothesizing what a solution might be, but most people (me included) tend to jump right into the solving phase.

What we should do is move into the prototyping phase. Ask the question “How might I…” and then put together a rough and dirty version to check it. That’s what prototyping is.

Why is it so hard? I blame evolution.

We have been wired to not show vulnerability. If I show weakness, the other members of the pack might think I am unnecessary. If I am unnecessary, they may push me out of the pack. If they push me out of the pack, I might die. So, don’t die; don’t show vulnerability.

I think that’s a huge mistake. Vulnerability doesn’t cause death anymore. It provides an opportunity for you to get knowledge that you didn’t have before. A chance to understand better than you did before.

So why do I think Yoda was wrong? Because I think there is room for try. A whole generation of kids has been brainwashed into thinking that they have to be perfect. It’s not true. We can get to a much better outcome if we try…get feedback…adjust…try again…and the cycle continues until we get a much better product than we ever could have on our own.

What do you think? Is there do or not do? or is there try?

Leave a Reply

